Want to make creations as awesome as this one?


by Michael Casarez

Texas Local and State Government

The Texas government consists of 3 branches on the state and local level, the Legislative, Executive, and Judicative. On the state level, their functions are:Legislative: fund the government, passes bills, set taxes, make lawsExecutive: carries out and enforces laws, oversees Texas state agencies, sets policies for colleges and universities, state hospitals, prisons, and for the use of natural resources Judicial: sees that laws are properly enforced, oversees law enforcement, settles disputes between citizens

Functions of Texas government

City Hall San Antonio

Functions of the local government areLegislative: sets all salaries and benefits, maintains all county facilities, roads and transportation infrastructure, approval of county budgets Executive: manages and operates the county jails, is responsible for the administration and enforcement of the laws passed by the legislative Judicial: interprets the law and resolves legal disputes, operation of the state court system

Functions of Texas government

Commissioners Court, Commissioner, County Judge, County Sheriff, Justice Of The Peace, City Council, City Manager, Mayor



Governor, Texas Supreme Court, Texas Legislature

Structure of the government


Governor: Greg AbbottSenator: John CornynSenator: Ted CruzMayor San Antonio: Ron NirenbergSheriff Bexar County: Javier SalazarCity Council: Mario Bravo, Jalen McKee-Rodriguez, Phyllis Viagran, Adriana Rocha, Teri Castillo, Melissa Cabello, Ana Sandoval, Manny Pelaez, John Courage, Clayton Perry


Government Officials

Local: government makes local laws and enforces local laws, it deals with day-to-day issues of local residents and businesses

State: government makes state laws and carries out state laws, state government deals with the issues of all counties in the state

Differences between local and state government